skip navigation

More than 100 W League alumna earn NCAA Division 1 honors

By Staff, 11/04/22, 1:45PM EDT


33 USL W League teams have players recognized for their outstanding collegiate seasons

TAMPA, Fla. - More than 100 USL W League alumna that appeared in the inaugural season have earned NCAA Division 1 honors at the conclusion of the 2022 collegiate season. Of the 44 teams that competed in the 2022 W League season, 33 of those teams had at least one player recognized by their conference.

Read about a few of those players below:

South Georgia Tormenta FC’s Amy Andrews concluded her senior season with Western Illinois University with eight goals and an assist, earning her First Team All-Summit honors. This was the third consecutive year Andrews has received either first- or second-team honors during her tenure at the university. Andrew’s fantastic senior season was preceded by being named the 2022 W League Player of the Year after scoring 16 regular season goals and claiming the Golden Boot in the league’s inaugural season. Andrews went on to score three goals in the postseason and Tormenta FC claimed the first-ever W League title.  

A duo of Minnesota Aurora FC standouts were both named to the 2022 All-Mountain West Second Team. Senior Morgan Stone found the back of the net four times and provided five assists on the season for the Boise State Broncos. Junior Kelsey Steed-Kaufusi started all 21 matches in the backline for Utah State. Stone, five goals, and Steed-Kaufusi, two assists, were both a part of Aurora FC, which went undefeated through the regular season and fell just short in the W League Final.  

Indy Eleven’s Katie Soderstrom capped off her redshirt-senior season with the Butler Bulldogs with her fourth All-BIG EAST First Team selection. Soderstrom led the Bulldogs in assists with six on the season and recorded six goals. Soderstrom had an equally impressive season in the W League, netting 11 goals and an assist for Indy, landing her on the W League Team of the Season – First Team.  

Greenville Liberty FC also saw a pair of teammates make the 2022 All-ACC Second Team. Defender Megan Bornkamp and midfielder Hal Hershfelt were both a part of a strong Clemson team who just fell short of ACC postseason. For Liberty FC, Bornkamp had four goals and an assist from the backline and teammate Hershfelt had one goal and four assists.  

Midwest United FC’s Lauren Kozal was unanimously voted BIG 10 Goalkeeper of the Year – the first unanimous selection for the award since its inception in 2011 – as well as 2022 First Team All-Big Ten. Kozal recorded 12 shutouts for the Michigan State Spartans, helping them reach the Big Ten Championship against Penn State. Kozal appeared eight times for Midwest United in the inaugural season of the W League and recorded two shutouts.  

Queensboro FC’s Mia Asenjo appeared in 15 matches her freshman season with the University of Central Florida Knights. Asenjo was a unanimous selection for the All-Rookie Team in the American Athletic Conference. Asenjo was also a part of the W League Team of the Season - First Team after leading Queensboro FC with 11 goals and an assist.  

Dozens of W League players will represent their respective universities in the NCAA Tournament which will begin in the following weeks and conclude in Cary, North Carolina on December 5, 2022. 

Latest News