skip navigation

W League Alums Rack Up Collegiate End of Year Awards

By Staff, 12/07/22, 11:55AM EST


Five earn All-America Honors, 19 players appear in College Cup

After a banner 2022 USL W League season, hundreds of W League alums have gone on to have incredible 2022 collegiate seasons, earning prestigious end of year awards in recent weeks.

The NCAA DI Women's Tournament was filled with W League alums, including 19 who appeared at the College Cup and 14 who competed in the Final for the University of North Carolina. 

Meanwhile, Lauren Kozal of Midwest United FC, Julia Leas of McLean Soccer, and Ally Schlegel of Racing Louisville FC were selected as MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalists. The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer. 

Kozal, Leas and Schlegel also received First Team All-America recognition, with Kozal and Schlegel receiving national recognition for the second time in their careers. 

Five W League alums received All-America honors overall, with NC Courage U23's Tori Hansen voted to the Second Team and Indy Eleven's Molly McLaughlin to the Third Team. 

Additionally, almost 40 W League alums were recognized in the United Soccer Coaches All-Region Teams, with 23 different W League clubs being represented. 2022 W League champion and Golden Boot winner Amy Andrews of South Georgia Tormenta FC, Greenville Liberty defender Megan Bornkamp, and Midwest United FC's Riley Tanner were among those selected to All-Region Teams. 

In the NCAA Division II ranks, Hayley McGee of Eagle FC, was voted to the All-America First Team and Alyssa Stumbaugh of the Green Bay Glory received All-America Second Team honors. 

Seven alums also received DII All-Region honors. 

Latest News