skip navigation

Meet the USL W League players competing at the Concacaf Women’s U-20 Championship

By Staff, 05/25/23, 9:00AM EDT


Five players earn call-up to United States squad, with 18 players representing 14 clubs overall selected for event

Giselle "Gigi" Espinoza representing Mexico's Youth National Team

The Concacaf Women’s U-20 Championship kicks off this week in the Dominican Republic and is set to feature a notable collection of current USL W League players across the nations represented.

Overall, 18 players who are currently competing in the league, or saw action in the 2022 W League season, are set to compete, with five players having been selected by United States Women’s U-20s Head Coach Tracey Kevins for the event.

Leading the group are a pair of players from SF Glens SC in Elise Evans and Jasmine Aikey, with Oakland Soul SC goalkeeper Teagan Wy also joining the group from the Nor Cal Division. Rounding out the quintet are NC Courage U23’s Lauren Martinho and Tessa Dellarose, who made six appearances for Racing Louisville FC a season ago.

The Dominican Republic squad also features five players with W League ties, including Minnesota Aurora FC’s Paola Then, Paisley Athletic’s Odaliana Gomez, and Morris Elite SC’s Angelina Vargas. Gomez could square off with Paisley teammate Sonia Neighbors, who is one of four players selected in Puerto Rico’s squad as the two nations meet in the final game of group play next Monday afternoon.

The Glens feature the most players selected from the W League, having also had Andrea “America” Frias selected by Mexico alongside Evans and Aikey, while 14 W League clubs overall are represented across six countries vying for a place at the FIFA Women’s U-20 World Cup next year.

USL W League Players and Alums at the 2023 Concacaf Women’s U-20 Championship

Canada (1): Olivia Smith (Racing Louisville FC)

Dominican Republic (5): Paloma Pena (FC Miami City), Paola Then (Minnesota Aurora FC), Angelina Vargas (Morris Elite SC), Jaylen Vallecillo (Manhattan SC), Odaliana Gomez (Paisley Athletic)

Mexico (2): Giselle Espinoza (Southern Soccer Academy), Andrea “America” Frias (SF Glens SC)

Panama (1): Amayah Singleton (Wake FC) 

Puerto Rico (4): Sonia Neighbors (Paisley Athletic), Madison Krakower (Cedar Stars), Isabel Ackerman (Tampa Bay United), Susana Roberts (Kalamazoo FC)

United States (5): Teagan Wy (Oakland Soul SC), Elise Evans (SF Glens SC), Lauren Martinho (NC Courage U23), Jasmine Aikey (SF Glens SC), Tessa Dellarose (Racing Louisville FC)

Latest News